Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Daniel Boone announces second Athletic Hall of Fame Class


Staff Writer

[email protected]

Daniel Boone has announced the names of former athletes that they will induct as the second class of the Daniel Boone Athletic Hall of Fame, during a ceremony on Sept. 15.

The group will consist of Dennis Adams, football/track (1974); Lisa Armentrout, track/CC (1977); Charlotte Everhart, track/CC (1978); Mike Kiernan, football/wrestling (1973); Greg Kilday, football/baseball (1976); Tammy Larkey, basketball (1981); Gary Weese, wrestling (1980; George Holly, contributor; Roger Jackson, administration/AD and the 1981 boys cross country team, which won a state championship. That team consists of Jeff Barron, Lee Blevins, Ted Danzer, Brian Darnell, Jim Guimond, Len Jeffers, and Alan Whitley.

The class was voted on by the first class which was inducted last October. That class included Ken Green; Nathan Hale; Jerry Jenkins; Stan Kinnett; Clarence Mabe; Mary Ann Nelson; George Moody; Dorothy Rose; Bobby Snyder; Herman Tester; Dave Torgerson; Lloyd White; Larry Barr; Karl F. Winkle; Bill Wagner; Becki Jones Feathers; Lynna McIturff Bingham; Leah White Looney; Rick Wagner and Tonya Bailey Jenkins.

That class mostly represented the foundation, coaching wise of the school, while the newest class will represent the players they coached during the first decade of the school’s existence.

“This is mostly student athletes,” Daniel Boone Athletic Director Danny Good said. “Last year’s individuals that were inducted were really the foundation of the school coaching wise and now you see more of the student athletes being inducted by their coaches.

“This group is from 1973-1981, so it’s really the first decade of the school and these men and women are the representatives of the first great group of student athletes at Daniel Boone.”

Besides a ceremony that will take place on Sept. 15 — with a social beginning at 6 p.m. before the inductions begin at 6:45 p.m. — the group will be honored during the Trailblazers home football contest against Tennessee High on Sept. 16.

The group will have their names put up on a memorial that is located in front of the high school. Each class will have a plaque with their names engraved.

They will also be given the task of voting for the next class, which has a nomination deadline of April 17.

Nomination forms are available on the school’s website. This will be an annual celebration, according to Good.

“This has really taken off and there is a lot of support behind it,” he said of the hall of fame. “We appreciate the time and effort that everyone has put in to making this a success and look forward to inducting the future classes.”