Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Boone cross country captures second at state championship

Last season the Daniel Boone High School boys’ cross country team took the district, region, and state competition by surprise, eventually placing fifth at the state championships.
After returning all of their top runners for the 2012 season, the Trailblazers were expected to again visit Tennessee cross country’s biggest stage.
Last weekend they did, placing second at the TSSAA Cross-Country State Championship in Nashville.
After finishing the regular season as the Big 8 Conference’s top team, the boys of Boone continued their winning ways in the postseason, capturing the region and stamping their ticket to the state championship.
On Nov. 2, at Nashville’s Steeplechase course, the Blazer runners competed in the 5K event made up of the state’s 24 best teams and top 193 individuals.
Boone proved all of the expectations surrounding the team this season was right on par, as the team placed second in the event with 61 total points, falling narrowly to state champion Brentwood at 52.
The Blazers were led by senior Roderick Bowman, who placed fifth overall with a time of 16:04.98.
Adam Barnard was the next Blazer to finish, placing seventh with a time of 16:13.33.
Also contributing in Boone’s total points were Chad Whitehead (17:00.04), James Garst (17:06.12) and Jordan Roth (17:07.30). Among all the team runners, the trio placed 14, 18 and 19 respectively.
Aaron Templeton of Hardin Valley captured the top time of the meet finishing at 15:52.67.
David Crockett High School was also represented at the State championship meet by freshman Carrigan Bishop, who earned an individual spot at the event following a strong performance at the girls’ regional meet late last month.
Of the 187 female runners, Bishop finished in 43rd, doing so with a strong time of 21:28.88.
Siegel High School’s Nicole Gardner finished with the top girls’ time at 18:44.13 and Ravenwood High School won the girls’ team state championship.