Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Boone’s star guard Ryan Gaitor named Player of Year

The Big 8 Basketball Conference awards banquet was held March 1 to honor the best of the best in the conference this season.
Boone senior Ryan Gaitor nabbed the banquet’s top award, being named the conference’s Player of the Year.
Boone Head Coach Ryan Arnold took home the Coach of the Year honor.
Boone finished the 2012-13 season with a 21-10 record, good enough for third in the conference.
Gaitor led the Blazers with an average of 18 points, five assists and almost five rebounds per contest.
Seniors Jacob Littleton and Dillon Reppart joined Gaitor as selections to the all-conference team. Jordan Stout received an honorable mention.
For David Crockett High School, Isaac Mango was selected to the all-conference team and Isaac Barkley received a nomination on the underclass team. Tyler Page received an honorable mention.
In the girls’ ceremony, Jenny Snyder headlined the nominations for the Lady Blazers as second team all-conference selection.
Boone’s Taylor Carmichael and Jaclyn Jenkins were both selected to the all-underclassman team, and Autumn Bradshaw, Katelyn Cox and Allison Littleton received honorable mentions.
Heather Scalf was Crockett’s lone selection, receiving an honorable mention.