Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Town swears in new board

Mayor Kelly Wolfe, Alderman Chuck Vest and Alderman David Sell were sworn in Nov. 24 at what would become the first meeting of the new Jonesborough Board of Mayor and Aldermen.
“The dynamic remains the same, but we’ve had a change in one of the faces,” Wolfe said of the new board.
“I think the key ingredient to the past board’s many successes has been that the makeup of the board was a good mix and balanced representatives of the town population as a whole,” he added. According to Wolfe, that dynamic remains the same.
In the recent Nov. 4 municipal election, Wolfe beat out challenger and former alderman Jerome Fitzgerald and Vest and Sell defeated fellow candidate Nansee Williams. Wolfe is returning for his fourth term and Vest for his third, while Sell was elected for the first time to fill a seat vacated by Homer G’Fellers, who chose not to run.
The current board now consists of Wolfe, Vest, Sell, Terry Countermine and Adam Dickson. Countermine was not present.
1st Judicial District Chancellor John Rambo, who presided over the swearing-in ceremony, referred to the newly elected board members as “the latest example of leadership this town has been blessed with.”
“The Town of Jonesborough, as all of you know, is the oldest municipality in (Tennessee),” Rambo said. “They have been swearing in mayors and aldermen longer in this town than any other government in the State of Tennessee.”
Referring to Jonesborough as “truly the little town with the big story” and one that has had a big impact on the State of Tennessee, Rambo went on to describe the Nov. 24 event as one that illustrates “our hope for the future.”
“I congratulate the newly elected members of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen, I congratulate Alderman Jerome Fitzgerald for his willingness to serve and to run, and also to Nansee Williams,” Rambo said. “We’re here to celebrate that the election is over, and thankfully, this town has a long history of putting elections behind us and rolling up our sleeves and getting the job done.”
After the ceremony was complete, the board reconvened to approve newly proposed committee placements. These included Sell’s new spot on the Traffic Committee, as well as the appointment of Jimmy Rhein on the Johnson City/Washington County/Jonesborough Economic Council, the Johnson City/Jonesborough/Washington County Economic Development Board and the City County Liaison; and Craig Ford to the Emergency Medical Services Board.
Board members also used the opportunity provided by Monday’s meeting to present outgoing Alderman Homer G’Fellers with a plaque of appreciation for his service.