Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Three terms and Ford’s out

Political newcomer Micah Van Huss defeated incumbent state Rep. Dale Ford in the Republican Primary race for the 6th District House of Representatives seat.
Ford, a former umpire for Major League Baseball, was seeking a chance to run for his fourth consecutive term. He did not immediately return calls made by the Herald & Tribune.
Van Huss earned approximately 54 percent of the vote.
According to his website, Van Huss earned a bachelor’s degree in computer science from Pensacola Christian College before joining the Marine Corps. In the last six years, the site says, Van Huss has deployed to Iraq three times and Afghanistan once. It is there, he claims, he began to notice the “declining state of our nation.”
“I don’t want to see Tennessee going down the same path as Washington D.C. — with out of control government spending, corporate red tape, high taxes, moral decline and the infringement of our constitutional rights — specifically the First, Second, Fourth and 10th amendments,” Van Huss writes. “I’m a firm believer that government doesn’t create jobs, but government can create the environment for job growth.”
Van Huss now moves on to face off against Democrat Michael Clark, who ran unopposed in the Democratic Primary, in the Nov. 6 general election.
State Rep. Matthew Hill (R-Jonesborough) faced no opposition in the Republican primary for his seat. Hill now will face Nancy Fischman in the Nov. 6 general election.
Steve Light, who was appointed to represent the 8th District on the Washington County Commission following the death of Commissioner Evert Jarrett in April, beat out five opponents to retain the seat for the remainder of the term.
Light, a resident of the Bowmantown community, garnered 32.61 percent of the vote. His closest contender was Eddie Haren, who received 21.6 percent of the vote. Others running were John Abe Teague, B.J. Robbins, Tommy Crowder and Jerry Boswell.
Mike Ford, who was appointed to serve the 7th District on the commission following the death of Commissioner Richard Shadden, ran unopposed to keep the seat through the 2014 election.
Washington County Board of Education members Todd Ganger, Phillip McLain and Mary Lo Silvers all retained their seats in the 2nd District. They were the only three on the ballot for the trio of available spots.
In the only contested race for constable, the 3rd District elected Rick Gillenwater, Mark Bacon and Rick Dunn. Dickie Wines also ran in the race, but recorded the lowest number of votes.
Constables running uncontested in the 1st District are Kenneth Phillips, John Couch and Joshua Burleson. In the 2nd District, Rusty Chinouth, Scotty Carrier and Chris Mills were elected as constables in an uncontested race.
Washington County Assessor of Property Scott Buckingham retained his position, running uncontested in the race.
U.S. Congressman Phil Roe (TN-1) also faced no opposition in last week’s voting. Roe now will face off against Alan Woodruff, who ran unopposed in the Democratic Primary, in November.
U.S. Sen. Bob Corker bested four competitors in the Republican Primary to face off in November against Mark Clayton.