Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Members of county Committee on Committees to remain same

Washington County Commissioners voted last week to make no change to the membership of the Committee on Committees, the body who assigns commissioners to service on standing and special committees.
Commissioners serving on the Committee on Committees are Mark Ferguson, chair, Doyle Cloyd, Sam Humphreys, Richard Matherly and Gearld Sparks.
Members are elected annually in July to make recommendations to the commission for new committee appointments, which go into effect during the September meeting.
Commissioner Mike Ford made a motion to leave the current committee “as is,” which was seconded by Richard Matherly and passed unanimously.
Commissioners are allowed to submit preferences for committees, but questions were raised last year as to whether those preferences were even considered. Ferguson said the Committee on Committees tried to be as fair as possible.