Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Man of the hour: Dykes receives top honors in First District, nominated for ‘Superintendent of the Year’ in Tennessee

Washington County Director of Schools Ron Dykes has been chosen as the First District’s Superintendent of the Year – an honor Dykes said took him “completely by surprise.”
Dykes got the news last week from Hawkins County Director of Schools and Chairman of the First District Superintendents Study Council Charlotte Britton.
“She called to tell me she had received notification from Ron Blalock, who is the First District and the Eastern District’s Director with the Tennessee Department of Education,” Dykes said. “That was the first I knew about it. I had not an inkling.”
Dykes says he is “humbled” by the award, given the number of “heavy hitters” in the First District.
“Some of the finest leaders in the entire state are in this district,” Dykes said. “I was surprised and absolutely delighted to receive this honor.”
Britton said Dykes’ nomination was endorsed by the First District SSC, an organization that consists of directors of schools from 10 counties and seven city systems.
Those systems include Washington, Cocke, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Greene, Carter, Sullivan, Johnson and Unicoi counties and the city systems of Johnson City, Bristol, Kingsport, Rogersville, Greeneville, Newport and Elizabethton.
“(Dykes) distinguished himself by his active involvement in the SSC with his outstanding professional growth and strong leadership qualities,” Britton said. “Also, Washington County has made outstanding progress in student achievement.”
Dykes is now one of nine nominees – one representing each of Tennessee’s districts — for the statewide award.
The recipient of that honor will be announced at a meeting of the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents in Gatlinburg this fall.