Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Majority of county commissioners ousted, School Board will also see changes following last week’s election

The Washington County Commission will look significantly different at its September meeting, with more than half of the incumbent candidates being ousted following last week’s general election.
In all, 14 of the 25 commissioners were defeated, many in races that were decided by just a few votes. Another 11 incumbent commissioners managed to hang on to their seats, with some doing so by a landslide and others barely holding on.
In the 1st District, County Clerk Doyle Cloyd will now serve as a commissioner alongside incumbent winners Pete Speropulos and Greg Matherly.
Incumbent Paul Woodby lost his seat while candidate Lee Sowers was unable to garner enough votes to earn a spot.
In the 2nd District, Sam Humphreys will be the only commissioner to remain on the commission. Incumbent Peggy Richardson did not seek re-election while incumbent CB Kinch was voted out. Winning the two remaining seats in the district are Joe Sheffield and George “Skip” Oldham III.
Others running were Donald Gomer Feathers and Pat Collins.
The 3rd District will see all new commissioners with victories earned by Alpha Bridger, Mitch Meredith and Sam Phillips. Incumbents Frank Bolus and Mark Hicks lost their re-election bids while Jim Powell did not seek re-election.
Others running in the district were N.M. “Bill” Bays Jr. and Ted Ganger.
All three incumbents in the 4th District lost the race to keep their seats on the county commission. Phillip McPeak, Sid Campbell and Wendell Messimer will be replaced by Joe Corso, David Tomita and Lee Chase.
Others running were Stephen Meroney and John Hunter.
In the 5th District, incumbent Richard Matherly will remain on as a commissioner while incumbent Bill Biles was ousted. Joining Matherly on the commission for the fifth district are Ethan Flynn and Ken Lyon.
Also running was Jerry Lee Malone.
The 6th District will see two returning commissioners. – Mark Ferguson and Gerald Sparks. Newcomer William Grandy earned the most votes in the district race, helping to defeat incumbent Kyle Shell.
Others running were Bryan Martin, Adam Dickson and Ted Lynch.
Janice Sanders White will not return as a 7th District commissioner while incumbents Richard Shadden and Mark Larkey will continue to serve. Shadden and Larkey will be joined in the district by Roger Nave.
Others running in the district were Darrell Fitzgerald and Gary Baines.
Eighth District incumbents Ben Bowman and Evert Jarrett had no competition in the election and will retain their positions on the county commission.
In the 9th District, Pat Wolfe retained his seat on the commission while incumbent Danny Edens was defeated by David Shanks.
Ron Stout was also on the ballot in that district, but was unable to retain enough votes.
Washington County School Board
The Washington County School Board will retain some of its members while also welcoming two new members.
Following last week’s general election, District 1 incumbents Keith Ervin and Chad Williams will return to the board while incumbent Dallas Hardin lost his seat to Jack Leonard, Jr.
Williams led the District 1 polls, receiving 1,831 votes. Both Ervin and Leonard recorded 1,818 votes. Hardin earned 1,504 votes while candidate Jerry Berry received 1,418 votes and Hontas Bailey recorded 1,038 votes.
In District 3, incumbents Clarence Mabe and Bill Brinkley will return to their school board duties while newcomer David Hammond will replace the position vacated by Eric Barnes, who did not seek re-election.
Mabe led the District 3 polls with 3,092 votes while Brinkley received 2,674 votes. Hammond earned the third spot on the board with 2,296 votes.
Candidates Craig Cloyd and Andrea Hooper received 2,005 and 1,706 votes, respectively.
Other races
In other county elections, Jack Daniels will remain the county’s trustee following a successful campaign to defeat opponent Pamela Fitzgerald while Scott Buckingham, who was appointed county property assessor following the retirement of the previous assessor, will retain his position. Buckingham successfully defeated Del Carroll to retain the position.
Five county officials ran unopposed in the County General Election. They are the new county mayor Dan Eldridge; new county clerk Kathey Storey; county sheriff Ed Graybeal; circuit court clerk Karen Guinn; and register of deeds Ginger Jilton.
In the Tennessee House of Representatives 6th District race, incumbent Dale Ford successfully defeated Kevin Flanary. There is no Democrat running, meaning Ford’s victory last week has earned him a repeat visit to the position.
In state House of Representatives 7th District race, incumbent Matthew Hill ran unopposed in the Republican Primary and will go on to face Democrat Todd Mrozek, who is unopposed in the Democrat Primary for the same position, and Independent candidate Jesse Overbey.
Meanwhile, Rusty Crowe ran unopposed in the Republican Primary for the Tennessee State Senate from Washington and Carter counties. He will go on to face Ken Owens, who is unopposed in the Democrat Primary, in the November Election.
Both Democrat and Republican Primaries for the federal office of U.S. House of Representatives, 1st District took place last week. Incumbent David Phillip Roe successful defeated his republican opponent Michael Sabri and will go on to face off against the sole candidate in the Democrat Primary, Michael Edward Clark, in November.
Knoxville mayor Bill Haslam has earned the Republican nomination for Tennessee governor following last week’s election. Haslam will face off against Democrat nominee Mike McWherter in the November election.