Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Boone senior chosen as Roan scholar

East Tennessee State University recently announced the newest members of the Roan Scholars Leadership Program.
The five high school seniors selected for the Roan Scholars Class of 2011 participated in a rigorous interview process with 45 other nominees.
Among the scholars is Alicyn Rebekah York, a senior at Daniel Boone High School.
York is the daughter of Robert and Robin York of Mount Carmel.
She has served as president of the National Honor Society; vice-president of the senior class; secretary of the Tri-M Music Honor Society; section leader of the chorus; member of the Academic Team, Beta Club, and Student Council; and captain of the volleyball and track teams.
Her academic and artistic honors and awards are many and include the Christian Servant Award, Tennessee Scholar, and the principal’s honor roll.
In the community, York has volunteered for Mountain States Health Alliance, Samaritan’s Purse, and the day school at her church. She spends her free time as a private piano teacher.
York intends to enroll in ETSU’s allied health sciences program and minor in music. Her goal is to pursue a career as a clinical dietician in a children’s hospital.
Louis H. Gump, a Johnson City businessman and entrepreneur, modeled the ETSU Roan Scholars Program after the Morehead-Cain Scholars Program at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, where he was a Morehead Scholar.
Selection criteria are demonstrated leadership, character, intellectual curiosity and physical vigor. Gump’s vision was for ETSU to attract and retain some of the region’s most promising young leaders through this concept.
The Roan Scholar awards are based on performance and merit as noted in nominations submitted by the students’ high school principals. Candidates undergo personal interviews by panels of regional community leaders before being selected to participate.
The scholarship portion of the Roan Scholars Leadership Program includes full tuition, room and board, and a book allowance. In addition, the Higher Education Division of Dell Computer Corp. provides a new laptop computer and printer to each incoming scholar. Outside the classroom, Roan Scholars participate in numerous activities with experienced leaders to broaden their horizons and enhance their leadership skills.
The Roan Scholars Program admitted its first four students in the fall of 2000 and now boasts 45 leaders-in-training. With the forthcoming May commencement ceremony, 25 will have graduated from ETSU, with many having gone on to further their education through graduate and professional schools.
Joining York as the newest class of Roan Scholars will be Sierra Alexis Galloway, from Science Hill High School; Victoria Ashley Howard, from Sevier County High School; Zachary Lynn McCamey from West Greene High School; and Michael Donald Stallard of Dobyns-Bennett High School.