Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Boone JROTC takes first place in North Carolina competition

The Daniel Boone High School Marine Corps Junior ROTC unit took first place overall in the 10th Annual R-S Central Drill and Marksmanship Competition in Rutherfordton, N.C., on Saturday, March 5.
The team brought home a record of 29 team and individual awards to top a field of thirteen schools.
In Armed Individual Drill Competition the following cadets took home awards: Drake Wood, Austin Bays, Chelsey Thompson, Christopher Rowe, Brent Royston, Zachary Radford, Ryan Brothers, Craig Buchanan and Lisa Fowler.
In Unarmed Individual Drill Competition the following cadets took home awards: Drake Wood, Zachary Radford, Chelsey Thompson and Wilson Miller.
The team earned four first place, two second place, one third place trophy and designation as best Marine Corps Unit.
Christopher Rowe and Zachary Radford took first place in Dual Exhibition and first and second place in Individual Exhibition.
Jamie Taylor and Wesley Moore placed third and fifth, respectively, in Individual Regulation Drill, Armed.
The competitive Marksmanship Team placed fourth overall, second in Team Prone and Second in Team Kneeling.
Chelsey Thompson placed fourth, Christopher Carney placed third and Summer Donald placed second overall in the Rookie Division.
William Bledsoe placed fourteenth and Christopher Rowe placed third overall in the Veterans Division.
Individual awards included: Summer Donald first place standing, Christopher Carney third place kneeling, and Chelsey Thompson second place kneeling in the Rookie Division. In the Veteran’s Division Andrew Little placed first in prone and Christopher Rowe placed third place in kneeling.
The Boone Drill Team regularly competes in armed and unarmed drill, personnel inspection, color guard, exhibition drill and individual precision military drill. Unit Commanders for the team are William Blesdoe, Zachary Radford, Andrew Little, Jamie Taylor, Christopher Rowe, Megan Phillips, Hannah Gilliam and Wesley Moore.